“I am me and I am okay”

Posted: January 17, 2007 in All, Blogroll, child abuse, Family, Life, Motivation & Inspiration, poetry

We all have bouts of depression and despair in our lives.  We  have low self esteem and times when we just feel like it will take a miracle to go any further.  When I was in high school was when I had my first serious bout of depression and despair.  As I started to venture away from my abuser’s, and got a glimpse into “normal”, (before then, I just didn’t know any different), I became depressed.  My high school English teacher, who was a life saver for me gave the  book with the poem “Self Esteem” by Virginia Satir.  She gave me that book 20 years ago or so, and I still turn to it on occassion for reassurance.  Below is a copy of it…wonderfully true for us all!

I AM ME

In all the world, there is no one else exactly like me
Everything that comes out of me is authentically me
Because I alone chose it – I own everything about me
My body, my feelings, my mouth, my voice, all my actions,
Whether they be to others or to myself – I own my fanatasies,
My dreams, my hopes, my fears – I own all my triumphs and
Successes, all my failures and mistakes Because I own all of
Me, I can become intimately acquainted with me – by so doing
I can love me and be friendly with me in all my parts – I know
There are aspects about myself that puzzle me, and other
Aspects that I do not know – but as long as I am
Friendly and loving to myself, I can courageously
And hopefully look for solutions to the puzzles
And for ways to find out more about me – However I
Look and sound, whatever I say and do, and whatever
I think and feel at a given moment in time is authentically
Me – If later some parts of how I looked, sounded, thought
And felt turn out to be unfitting, I can discard that which is
Unfitting, keep the rest, and invent something new for that
Which I discarded – I can see, hear, feel, think, say, and do
I have the tools to survive, to be close to others, to be
Productive to make sense and order out of the world of
People and things outside of me – I own me, and
therefore I can engineer me – I am me and

I AM OKAY

 

© Virginia Satir, 1975.

Found in Virginia Satir, Self Esteem, Celestial Arts: California, 1975.

 

Comments
  1. Leticia says:

    I NEEDED THIS. THANK YOU.

  2. neicey says:

    Loving Virginia Satir!!!
    Thanks…these are just
    falling on my lap..just
    when I need them
    most…funny how
    things happen that way
    xoxo

  3. Lisa says:

    I was given a poster of ‘I am me, I am okay’ as a teenager by my mother. It was inspirational at a young age. I have just googled and rediscovered it again to my delight. It has come to me again at an amazing time in my life as these things do. I am planning on having ‘I am me, I am okay’ tattoed onto my left wrist with some nice artwork around it so that I am constantly reminded of the phrase. Does anybody know if I can get a poster of this somewhere? I’d love to have it on my wall again.Please inspire other young women as I was.

  4. Manymeez says:

    thanks for the comment Lisa. And agree 100% with what you said. This poem saved me as well…

    Don’t know about the website, but I did find this if you wanna check it out!

    http://www.therapeuticresources.com/83-1text.html

  5. candace says:

    i read this aint planned for parenthood,
    this was very nice.

  6. Misty says:

    I bought the poster as a teen. I lost it in a move and came into possession of another copy through volunteering with teens and it now hangs in my teens bedroom. It has always been in my heart. I am glad that it is still available for purchase as a book and a poster.

  7. To reduce a specific amount of pounds or inches from the body by helping to increase metabolism in your body.
    These drugs result in moderate to minimal weight
    loss but can lead to a big health issues.

  8. Although there was little risk of any side effects or health
    risks. The herb is also known as tea tree, tea plant
    and tea shrub. Researchers believe that it is
    effective. Find out how to use the green coffee bean extract to remain in shape.
    However Adipozin consists of some potential ingredients that are
    considered to be the most effective Green Coffee Bean Extract instead of injections.

    However, because our extract is so low in caffeine and plant
    fibers.

Leave a Reply

