I’m sorry

Posted: November 24, 2006 in All, Blogroll, Controversy, Family, humour, Life, Motivation & Inspiration

A top ten list to tell if it’s an apology or a confession. 

  I’m sorry, by Brenda Lee

 Why do people apologize?  Usually it’s to make peace, to distract and to dissolve the situation.  Sometimes it’s because you are really remorseful, and with the apology comes a change in behavior. Sometimes the apology is so twisted and full of excuses, “I’m sorry, but…” that you end up feeling more confused and more hurt after the so called apology has been given. The act of apologizing  has become a very popular trend these days.  There have been many high profile apologies, even in the last month.  I find many of them to be very humorous. But the fact that people buy into them, I find quite alarming.  So, here’s my list to help you out.  Sometimes an apology is not an apology at all, but it is a confession, if you know how  to listen. I’m going to keep them kind of generic so that they can be fit into any situation.

 What they said…                                                                                                    

1. I’m sorry you misunderstood me.

2.  I’m sorry,  but it’s not as bad as it seems.

3. I’m sorry, but it was the booze.

4. I’m sorry I did that.

5. I’m sorry,  but that’s not what I said.

6. I’m sorry, but I just went crazy.

7. I’m sorry for everything.

8. I’m sorry if I offended anyone.

9. I’m sorry, I will never do it again.

10. I’m sorry, it’s not my fault.                     

What they meant….

1. I’m sorry that you’re an idiot.

2. I’m sorry I can’t tell you the truth.

3. I’m sorry, but it’s better if you believe I’m a drunk instead of an asshole.

4. I’m sorry, but it sure was fun until I  got caught.

5. I’m really sorry you’re smarter than I thought you were.

6. I’m sorry you found out who I really am.

7. I’ll be really sorry if I get caught for something I haven’t done yet.

8. I’m sorry you people are so sensitive.

9. I’m sorry you’re making me feel bad, but when you’re feeling better I will do it again.

10. I’m sorry that  you will eventually find out that nothing will ever be my fault.

The list can go on and on, but these are the most common apologies.  Just remember, the next time someone says “I’m sorry”, they could be confessing, “I’m one sorry SOB”!!!!  Listen to them.

Comments
  1. J says:

    Not sure about your list. I am sure, however, that “You’re right. I’m wrong. I’m sorry” can save a lot of pointless aggravation, even if you don’t mean it.

  2. Manymeez says:

    I’m sorry, (and I promise, it really is heartfelt) I was having a hard time with my list, it was hard to understand, so I fixed it, I think. Hope it makes more sense now.

  3. Annette says:

    Nice post, I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

