I can only imagine…

Posted: January 23, 2007 in All, Blogroll, CELEBRITY, children, Controversy, Life, Motivation & Inspiration

If every U.S. citizen over the age of 18 were required to pick at least 1 area of community service, what would it be?  How would that make a difference in the state of our Country?  We all spend a lot of time complaining about what’s wrong, but very few of us are willing to do anything to help make things right.  Or, what I think I hate the most are those people who do good deeds just to boost their own image.  For example, some celebrity’s who may say, “Hey, look at me, look what a good person I am, I did my part, I gave $200,000 to that charity.”  But they have millions upon millions in the bank.  I’m not talking about that, or even necessarily about giving money.  What I’m wondering is, if we all picked at least 1 thing that we feel is wrong with THIS Country, and did something to make it right, what would happen?  Why don’t we all care a little bit more?  Why, as a whole are we so selfish?  I can only imagine the things that could be done if we stop thinking, “what can I get next, to, what can I do next?”

Comments
  1. Concerned Citizen says:

    Yes, I whole heartedly agree with some of your comments here concerning us all looking inward and helping fix some of our own long standing social problems via community service. Currently, there is such a great out cry to end the Iraq war due to the death and destruction on ALL sides. What about the violence in our own cities here! I see and hear so many Democrats, Republicans, Conservatives, Liberals, Independents, pro-war and anti-war crowds, etc., maneuvering to gain favorable political and public opinion for their own ideology that they can’t see the war right here in our own nations cities. Look at the city of Los Angeles where the police out of necessity must be armed with military style weapons to confront the gang violence. We see death and destruction in the media relating to Iraq and it seems to me that many of us fail to see the daily gang violence that claims the lives of so many young Americans in our major cities.

    I worked in a level-one trauma center in a city of approximately 500,000 people and I would challenge any of the above mentioned entities to pay a visit to any inner city hospital emergency room and see our youth coming through the doors with life threatening injuries inflicted by gang violence that is just as bad as combat related injuries. While the situation in Iraq is disturbing, I think if we all put as much energy into remedying inner city gang violence as we do into political and public out cry about Iraq, I could only imagine how much violence between our youths we could stop in our cities.

  2. Manymeez says:

    Yes, concerned citizen, I hear ya loud and clear and agree 100% with you. That’s exactly what I’ve been trying to say in my post. If we put as much effort, money, and man power into our own cities as we’ve put into other countries, we wouldn’t have the problems we are having. Even in medium sized cities like the one I live in, there are gang problems, drug problems, and education problems. I just don’t understand why our government continues to put forth real effort in other countries, but focuses only on things here that will win them the next election. It’s sad, frustrating, and amazing. I can only imagine what this country could accomplish if it only wanted to. Thanks for the comment and input. I really appreciated your point of view.

Leave a Reply

