The War Against Ourselves

Posted: March 26, 2007 in All, Blogroll, Controversy, Life, politics, rants, War

I was reading an article on the editorial page in today’s Greensboro News and Record about the counter protest of the anti-war protest.  I haven’t gone to any of the protest, so I was amazed and saddened to read about some of the things the anti-war protester’s were chanting as they marched to the Pentagon.  They were, according to this article calling our soldier’s, our hero’s, “Baby Killers”, “Murderers”, “Fascists”, and screaming “You don’t support our troops” to the vets who were there.  This is what gives us anti-war folks a horrible, wretched name.  To any of you who think this way, shame on you!  Our truth is not the same truth as everyone else’s.  It is ridiculous that people can’t just voice an opinion without resorting to name calling.  It does nothing to further a cause, and it is unexcusable.  The same holds true on the other side of the coin. I’ve heard pro-war folks saying  horrible things about my group that share my truth about this war.  But for me, I understand that the people who support this war are living by their own truth.  And though I strongly disagree, they are my fellow American brother’s and sister’s.  We are all we have, and thank God we are allowed to disagree with eachother and our leaders.  But we must support eachother, as American’s.  No one group or person loves this country more than the other, we just disagree on what’s best for its future.  We all need to live by our own truth, and feel free to debate it all we want.  But when I hear about this type of behavior, it just sickens my soul.  Grow up people!

Comments
  1. “It is ridiculous that people can’t just voice an opinion without resorting to name calling”

    It is a rather sad reality of polarized politics. And it creates a near endless cycle of anger and hate.

  2. Manymeez says:

    yes, I agree. It is tragic really. I wish everyone would fight harder for peace, not only in times of war, but right here at home too.

  3. SurfaceEarth says:

    Coffeegrounds:

    I have just put up a new post on “troops”. Stop by when you have the opportunity.

  4. SurfaceEarth says:

    Keep on keeping on.

  5. SurfaceEarth says:

    Can’t find your email link, you have one listed?

  6. Manymeez says:

    yeah, it’s under speakup….but to make it easier it is coffeegrounds_usa@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

