Why Rosie O’Donnell is a good American

Posted: April 2, 2007 in All, Blogroll, CELEBRITY, Controversy, politics

  

On Rosie O’Donnell’s blog, her latest post is written in an attempt to explain her reason for asking and talking about 9-11. Before I discuss it here, read her response first…then come back and lets talk about it.  2 whole paragraphs 

Okay, she is reconfirming what she has been saying all along…that she is in no shape or form insinuating that there is any conspiracy going on here.  She has not said publicly that she thinks the United States government had anything to do with how wtc7 fell, or the government having anything to do with the debris being removed so quickly without investigation.  She has, in my best memory only asked why.  I don’t understand how the media can feed the lies it has created about a woman who loves this country just as much as anyone else.  What’s worse is, the American people are believing what this media garbage is throwing out there.  If you want the truth, can it be found through people who are only interested in ratings? More than likely, not.  There is nothing wrong with a fellow American engaging people to do their own research, and then reach  their own conclusions.  She’s not saying she’s right, or that you even have to agree with her.  What difference does it make what she thinks, unless people are so scared  that they think she can control what half of America thinks? hmmm.

I’ll tell you that I am a Rosie fan…have been for a very long time. Why, you ask? Because she’s real, or at least as close to real as a celebrity can be.  She’s uncelebrity like, and I appreciate that.  She’s honest, caring, compassionate, and is un-selfish. Despite the fact of being a fan, I do not take whatever she says to be  the God given truth.  I listen to her and her opinions just like I do anyone else, I do my own research, and come to my own conclusions.  In this particular instance, it seems I remember on the afternoon of September 11, 2001 the media reporting that the city of New York was demolishing wtc7 because there was fear of it being unstable. Is that a true an accurate recollection? I don’t know. But,  I remember thinking that was odd.  If the area was clear, no one was in the building, why demolish it?  Then they removed the remnants so quickly, I wondered why there was no clear investigation.  I’m doing the same thing as Rosie, but I’m asking different questions.  Although, why was it not in the 9-11 commission report?  So, I am an American, I am a mom, and I am questioning.  That does not make me any different than Rosie except for the fact of only a hand full of people will read what I have to say, versus a few million will listen to what she has to say.  I’ve worked with children for a long time, and I’ve always found that the children who are guilty of doing something they’re not supposed to do are the ones who protest the loudest that they’ve done nothing wrong.  Maybe the people who are protesting Rosie, and thinking she should be put on trial for treason are feeling like she has a lot of power, and could change  the way people think about our leaders.  At least in my eyes that is the most comfortable explaination, because I find it hard to swallow that my fellow American’s would believe everything that they are told without exploring it further themselves.  Just remember that Rosie is just a woman, an American, and a human being who has questions.  So what if she has a public forum to voice those questions. Either listen and then do your own research, or turn the damn channel.  If YOU were any kind of an American, you would appreciate a fellow American guiding us to think for ourselves. But really, it’s not that big of a deal, next please…

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Bobby says:

    WOW; I will give you a hammer and a nail for hitting that right on the head!!!!

    Great read!
    Crow

  2. Manymeez says:

    Thank you! I don’t know for sure about hitting it on the head, because I do not know what is in Ro’s heart. My comments are based just on what I’ve seen. I just can’t for the life of me figure out what the big deal is. I don’t know why people are so scared of hypothesizing and asking questions. People are either just that naive or just don’t get it, or our public school system has loaded us all with such B.S. that its hard to see beyond the given. Either way, it’s scary as hell! P.S. I’ve really enjoyed your latest pics on flickr. They are truly breathtaking.

  3. Amanda says:

    I think it is very sad that Americans will believe what they hear on TV and not question it. One of your rights as an American citizen is to question what you hear and see and say something about it. Free speech. It is something that we all throw out there daily, but when it comes to matters of conspiracy, or a chubby lady on TV, we sink back into our burrows or bury our heads. Rosie is just being an American. She is not helping terrorist like Fox News tried reporting. (And by the way, Fox News is extremely one sided. I watched a debate they had on Rosie, but had to turn it off. It was a Rosie bashing show. Not a balanced news cast. They are just as bad as the liars we have in office.) As a journalism major and an aspiring journalist, I can’t help but cringe at the people on Fox News. They don’t give the press a good name. People like Rosie however, do. It may be hard to agree with that because she is chubby, the trump hates her, and the one thing many Americans find hard to deal with, she is a lesbian. What I have to say to that could take up a novel, but in short, grow up. Become the mature adult we all know you can be. Educate yourself. Start asking questions. Especially when it comes to our government. Free speech was put in place so that the American people could question their government. NOT so George Bush could tuck you into bed at night with lies. It is healthy to question and to voice those questions. People need to become better Americans, like Rosie.

  4. Manymeez says:

    Amen sister! And what people don’t seem to get is, Rosie is not a journalist, she is on a daytime talk show where the ladies are asked to give their view. That is her job, which she is paid to do. The only person that is a journalist is Barbra Walters. And Rosie’s view is this, lets talk about this, lets ask questions, and lets not believe it’s so just because our gov’t says it’s so. Get over yourself people! Thanks for comment Amanda!

  5. Cheri says:

    There is a difference between freedom of speech and treason. I personally find Rosie’s comments of late to lean on the side of treason and I think that ABC needs to remove her from the show.

    I’m not homophobic, I do not see over weight people in a different light than others, I have nothing personal against Rosie, except for the fact that she has called one of my favorite people, Kelly Rippa, homophobic, she has implied that our government may have had a hand in the 911 attack and has insulted Britain. Exactly how much does one’s fame allow one to attack with no proof and no remorse.

    I for one will not continue to support ABC until she is removed.

    You are entitled to like her, in fact, before the view and I listened to her attacks over and over again, I liked her too. You can do a lot of good things for children, yes that makes you a good person, but there has to be somewhere that you know you’ve crossed the line. In my opinion, this is where Rosie is confused, she just can’t locate that line that she’s been crossing, pissing off a lot of people in the meantime. Sure it’s her right to do it and it’s our right to turn the channel and shut her up. I just got to where I had to. I just couldn’t take it anymore.

    Cheri

  6. Manymeez says:

    I hear you Cheri, and I appreciate your non-judgemental stance. I disagree that she is accountable for treason, but I do understand that she upsets a lot of people. I think that a lot of people feel that she insinuated the gov’t had a hand in 9-11. But no one knows for sure what’s in her heart. I for one am not quite ready to say that the gov’t had anything to do with 9-11. But if I see the first bit of hard evidence, I will be the first one in line shouting in anger. That’s why I’m reading everything I can, and asking questions all over the place. I agree that she becomes pushy and over bearing at times, and just needs to learn to be quiet and listen. And I think there are times when she would agree with that, but again, I don’t know what’s in her heart. As far as insulting Britain, I think the timing of her comment was ill-timed. But I did hear our gov’t say that it doesn’t matter if they release the British troops, we weren’t making any deals. That tells me that there was no plan, but that our gov’t is taking advantage of it, and if given the opportunity, will use it to do what they want to do anyway…which scares the hell out of me btw. But I don’t think we have another case of gulf of tonkin here.

    I dont know what Rosie’s fate will be, as far as her job with the view goes. But I will continue to watch, and hope that she learns a little more self restraint, and grows an understanding that sometimes you can learn a whole lot by not saying anything at all. But I think she is a good American, and has a lot to offer. Thanks for the comment Cheri!

Leave a Reply

