I know Why The Caged Bird Sings

Posted: April 17, 2007 in All, Blogroll, Life, Motivation & Inspiration, philosophy, Thoughts

I have this taped on my bathroom mirror…just as a reminder.

when it feels like the walls are closing in, the flood waters are rising above, and it’s hard to breath, and giving up seems like the only option, remember, “I know why the caged bird sings”

“I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings”, by Maya Angelou is a wonderful lesson in hope, in the midst of despair. It is a wonderful, beautiful lesson on never giving up.  We all have our personal battles, while the world is in a battle itself. We  have to keep fighting, believing, and finding the truth for ourselves. It’s there, we only have to search.

Comments
  1. katm says:

    An excellent reminder. Thanks.

  2. Bobby says:

    I will admit; I was forced to read this inspiring tale in high school, and in college as well. I did enjoy it in the end. Great metaphor within the title!

    Everything you said is so true. A focus of moving on, forgiving those around you, and understanding that life is something that we make for ourselves. A premise for growing stronger through experience, and passing that knowledge on!

    I think you have grasped that idea.
    You come across as such a strong, and wise woman! Take comfort in that! Take Care, Be Safe!

    >

  3. Manymeez says:

    katm: yes, agreed…a wonderful inspiration!
    Bobby: I agree. I read it in highschool as well, and it’s what made me fall in love with Maya Angelou. She saved my life, and inspired me to write poetry…which was a bright light in the midst of darkness for me. And thanks for the final comment. Being strong comes and goes, but I hang on to it as best as I can…and wise, well, hmmm, I don’t know about that, but I have my moments I guess.

  4. lawcrow says:

    “and wise, well, hmmm, I don’t know about that, but I have my moments I guess”

    Your response on my blog, and just reading yours proves my idea.

  5. Manymeez says:

    (((blushing))) Thank you Bobby…you are very kind. Thank you for the support and the encouraging words. And that, coming from the bravest of brave…a police officer.

  6. ladylennon says:

    I read this book in either 8 or 9th grade. I own a copy. Maya Angelou is a inspiration. A more wonderful, kind, loving soul full of wisdon you would never find.

Leave a Reply

