really p.o.’d

Posted: April 24, 2007 in All, Blogroll, child abuse, Health, Life, rants, Thoughts

I really just don’t get it…and I guess I have no one to blame but myself.  I have been having physical problems for almost 3 years now.  Because of my extensive abuse I suffered as a child, I don’t go to the doctor unless I feel like I’m dying. (the wonderful results of having your body used and mistreated) I haven’t been to the dentist in almost 20 years.  Finally, I got to where I couldn’t take it anymore.  It took every little piece of everything that I am, but I called the OB/GYN.  It took a month to get an appointment.  Now, I have a diagnoses of an 8 inch fibroid that is tangled up in the muscle.  The doctor wants to do a hysterectomy. (I won’t even go into all of the confusion, fear, and question I have with that issue) None the less, there is a catch.  I have to wait another 6 weeks before they can do surgery.  I am in a lot of pain, there are not any pain pills I can take that work.  I’m being treated for acid reflux until my gall bladder test come back.  I have severe hydronephrosis (sp) of the left kidney, that is enlarged and bringing much pain as it is.  My blood pressure is through  the roof at around 152 over 100.  I’m trying to work with special needs kids with all of this pain and discomfort….and the doctor’s office doesn’t seem to give a shit.  So my question is this, how many of you have had these problems with health care?  What did you do about it?  But hell, they’re the almighty doctor, and I’m a little bitty no body. What can I really do ?  All I’m left with is, the health care system sucks!

Sorry for the rant, but I’m uncomfortable, I’m in pain, and I’m tired.  Thanks for listening/reading!

Comments
  1. fox says:

    Mmmmmmm…I also do not really do doctors, and I’m not sure what your situaton is so far as health insurance and possible cmplicating factors but if this doctor does not give you clear answers about things or explain why though they understand you have a very demanding commitment to these children they can’t do anything more immediate to help, you might consider getting a second opinion. You might still get the same answer, but a doctor that’s easier to interact with.

    And the ranting is perfectly acceptable! (I am sometimes convinced the amount of ranting I do is what keeps the sky from falling – so many words just keep it aloft.) Many prayers and much love to you!

  2. Manymeez says:

    Thanks for the comment. I’ve thought about getting a second opinion, but that would take another month to get an appointment with another doc. Sooo, what you do, you know? Thanks also for the ranting approval. Sometimes you’ve just gotta shout, WTF!!!!

  3. lawcrow says:

    Doctors; strange breed of people. Not like TV…Healthcare needs an overhaul! Thats for sure! One day at a time my friend! One Day at A time! Take Care!

  4. Manymeez says:

    I went to the doctor yesterday, and they were actually showing some concern. We’ll see if they were just blowing smoke up my butt or not. I finally got a prescription for pain meds, took one last night…definitly won’t be able to work while on it. And you’re right Bobby, Small steps are what it takes. But yesterday I got out of bed at 4:45a.m. and got home last night and sat down at 8:15. A long day when you have a lot of pain. So, for me right now it’s more like one moment at a time, baby steps. Thanks for the support!

  5. rubyshooz says:

    I know the feeling well. I’ve recently begun to take a more pro-active approach with my doctor(s) since it seems like if I don’t, no one else will. I’m learning how to be a bad patient, how to get what I need and how to specifically make the doctors sit up and take notice. I’ve been through the mill with doctors and have spent some years avoiding them, but lately, I’ve had to have some dealings with them and pretty much told them that I’m not playing, they had better listen to me – and it’s working!!

    I wish you all the best!

  6. Manymeez says:

    Yeah, you know it’s ashame that you can’t trust your doctor’s to take care of you, and to have concern for you without having to harrass the hell outta of ’em! If I don’t call, I don’t get info. I don’t know what they are doing over there…but it is just insane. And I don’t want to get them too pissed at me, because ultimately they will be doing surgery on me. who knows what they could “forget” to do, or leave inside. Anyway, thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

