The Joy of Beer

Posted: April 28, 2007 in All, Blogroll, Love, Thoughts

I love Beer.  When I was 7 or 8 years old my grandparents let me taste theirs.  Most kids that age would spit it out and scream in horror, “NASTY!”  But from the very first sip, I was in love.  I remember when I was around 12 years old, I was at a street festival with my dad and his girlfriend.  He didn’t want to have to go back through the beer line so quickly, so he bought 2 beers.  He had his back to me with one beer in his hand.  The other was on the ground right next to me.  I looked around and didn’t see anyone looking, so I picked up the beer, put it to my lips, and had a nice, long sip.  Mmmmmmm About that time I noticed 2 police men looking right at me.  Luckily they bought my dads story about how that happened, and that he didn’t buy his 12 year old daughter a beer, so we weren’t arrested.  They just told my dad to finish his beer, and get out of the beer garden immediately.  We did.

Now, I almost always have beer in  the fridge, and glass mugs in  the freezer.  The colder the beer, the better! There’s nothing worse than a luke warm beer, except of a hot beer of course.   I don’t want one everyday.  But sometimes after a hard day at work, a beer or two is just a perfect ending.  The problem is, it is so full of carbs and calories.  I love Sam Adams, but it is neither carb or calorie friendly at all.  So, that has to be the occasional special treat.  So, it’s hard to find that special beer that is low carb, low calorie, but not watery.  I really enjoy Bud Select, with only 3.9 grams of carbs and only 99 calories.  The flavor is just full and bold enough, with a smooth finish. If you know of some to recommend, please pass it on.  Here is a website that has a carb and calorie comparison.  I might try some of these out.  I haven’t heard of some of them, or they just don’t sell them here.  None the less, it will be a fun experiment.

Comments
  1. beanz80 says:

    Mmmmmm beer! Rock Green Light is decent and so is Amstel Light. I was surprised at how Bud Select tasted..I think I’ll have to put a frosty mug in the freezer now and have a Sam’s…mmmmm beer…

  2. Manymeez says:

    I thought Rock Green Light was just okay. Won’t pass it up if that’s all there is. I think I’ll try Amstel light…and I’m thinking about trying Michelob amber ultra and see what those are like. But Bud select is pretty ok. Enjoy your sam’s…I’m jealous!

  3. Erik Curtis says:

    My wife and kids got me a real nice beer making kit for fathers day. I’ve been after her for a while to get me one and fathers day seemed to be the right occasion. I should have the first batch ready just as summer starts to heat up. I agree with your words, an ice cold beer on a warm day just sits right.

  4. Manymeez says:

    Hey Erik. I’ve wanted to try a home brewing kit…but thought it would take a lot of time. Let me know how it turns out, and how the process is. “Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy”

Leave a Reply

