Don’t forget the significance

Posted: May 24, 2007 in All, Blogroll, Motivation & Inspiration, Thoughts, War

Despite how we feel about President Bush, or the mission in Iraq…our soldiers are our hero’s.  The men and women joined the military for many different reason’s.  Some are there because they felt the call to duty. Other’s are there because they felt it was there only option.  And yes, some are there because they were lied to and mislead into being there.  But once there, All of them are our hero’s, and deserve our thanks.  On this memorial day, please take some time to remember our soldiers, to thank our soldiers, past and present.  Our soldiers are not their mission, our soldiers are our fellow Americans who have sacrificed so much, and ask so little.

The American Soldier
May 23, 2007
We are the force we are today because of our values, our ethos and our people.  The essence of a Soldier’s service is captured in the Soldier’s Creed.  While the Soldier’s Creed itself is relatively new, the values it articulates are timeless.The history of battle is one of ordinary people doing extraordinary things in the service of their country.  A great many books have been written which describe in marvelous and inspiring detail examples of Soldiers who have lived the Creed.  And yet, for every book written there are millions of examples from our Army’s almost 232 history of the largely anonymous service of Soldiers who have quietly and professionally lived these values in both peace and in war. 

While the nature of both the heralded and unheralded service is varied, they all began with someone answering the “call to duty” in times of danger for our country.  That call, a call that pierces the air once again, comes from the American People.  The Creed recognizes this when it states “I serve the people of the United States and live the Army Values.”

Today’s Soldiers, like those in generations past who have worn the uniform and borne arms in defense of America’s interests, are motivated by the ideal of liberty enshrined in the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution.  It is an ideal each swears to “support and defend.”  It is an ideal to which each promises to “bear true faith and allegiance.”  It is an ideal each thinks worth fighting and dying for if necessary.

Having watched America’s Army in action alongside our joint and allied partners the past several years in the most demanding combat environment, I take great pride in our Soldier’s commitment, courage, competence, and dedication.  They epitomize what is best about America and have made our Army the world’s preeminent land power.

The call to duty that rings out today is also answered by the Families of those who wear the uniform.  Their service is just as significant and their sacrifice just as real.  Families move from post to post, not just Soldiers; Families go through deployments, not just Soldiers; and it is Families who live through the ups and downs of military life.  Without strong and supportive Families the Army would not be as good as it is today and America would not be as secure.  We thank them for their dedication to their loved ones, their support of our Army, and their love of their country.

In all that our Army has accomplished, and all that it will be called upon to do, the American Soldier and those who support them remain the single most important factor in our success.  They represent the values and ideals their country stands for and what is truly great about America.

Casey is the Army chief of staff.


Soldier’s CreedI am an American Soldier.

I am a Warrior and a member of a team.

I serve the people of the United States, and live the Army Values.

I will always place the mission first.

I will never accept defeat.

I will never quit.

I will never leave a fallen comrade.

I am disciplined, physically and mentally tough, trained and proficient in my warrior tasks and drills.

I always maintain my arms, my equipment and myself.

I am an expert and I am a professional.

I stand ready to deploy, engage, and destroy, the enemies of the United States of America in close combat.

I am a guardian of freedom and the American way of life.

I am an American Soldier.

Comments
  1. SurfaceEarth says:

    Well said.

    I have nothing to add, except….

    you are right.

    I sit here in my freedom because of someone else’s courage.

    Whether I agree with war or don’t, I can’t not acknowledge the bravery, the service, for people like you and I.

    I find myself speechless to be frank with you…there are no good words to describe the dichotomy…I don’t want our soldiers facing mortal wounds…I don’t want civilians and children, here or abroad facing mortal wounds…but I largely admit, I do not know the answer.

  2. lawcrow says:

    Amazing; I truly respect our armed forces. Especially the men and women that attempt to bring light into darkness. These soldiers are steered by an administration that has no idea what that CREED means. Yet; these soldiers still perform the orders given from those who do not understand how FREEDOM works. Listen to the people………..

  3. Manymeez says:

    Thank you surfaceearth and bobby. yes, our troops are the real hero’s and the administration are the arrogant cowards. They sit behind their desk, living their cushy lives, sacrificing nothing, but asking so much…with no guarentees. There is absolutely no proof that the terrorist, who are scattered all over the world will suddenly converge on U.S. soil if we pull out of iraq. The latest polls are saying that terrorist are planning an attack on Washington D.C. The administration is acting accordingly, and moving D.C. offices out of D.C. If our presence in Iraq is keeping them off of our soil, then why be so afraid? Their argument for staying in iraq is baseless, or they wouldn’t be so afraid, and spreading that fear here at home. It’s totally absurd. How would the freedom and security of America be if, God forbid…D.C. is attacked, a category 4 hurricane hits the eastern seaboard, and the wild fires continue in 5 states, all at the same time? Where is the man power to deal with that kind of disaster on the homeland? In Iraq, because keeping our manpower there is keeping America safe. yeah right. I live in central N.C….I think I’m going to offer to sell some ocean front property to the Bush adminstration. They seem to buy into anything.

  4. Erik Curtis says:

    Great post. Right to the point.
    Thanks Dad, your actions will be remembered! GySgt. Raymond Robert Curtis USMC, KIA, July 9, 1952. Ooh-rah

  5. Palestar says:

    Rosie very distinctly stated the other day – before the Wednesday attack – ” No I do not think the troops are terrorists – the administration that sent them are the terrioriosts – I want all the troops HOME safely! And whole. They are all hero’s”!

    Truthfully- after that being clear as glass – they still set her up and she was so shocked – it was hard to respond – to someone you care about I feel sold her out.

    To GySgt. Raymond Robert Curtis USMC RIP Hoo-Rah…

    No one has every forgotten you.

  6. Manymeez says:

    Thank you for the comments Erik and Palestar. I think we also need to remember the 9-11 first responder hero’s this weekend as well. They are hero’s in every sense of the word…and our government has seemed to have forgotten them.

    In case you haven’t heard, Rosie’s last day on the view is monday…if the info is correct.

  7. Palestar says:

    I have heard on the internet that the View will not pick up Elisabeth’s contract – if it true she deserves it. Shame on her.

  8. L. Goulet says:

    when did we become a nation that is so intolerant of others opinions. If you’re against the war you’re unamerican or unpatriotic. I’ve got news for the republican party, you can be against the war AND love the troops. The people in the country need to wake up before we’ve lost our freedom of speech and thought, which is exactly what our troops are fighting for.

  9. Palestar says:

    Rosie w/be on the View Mon. show was taped last week before EH and ???

    Notice that Jimmy Kimmel is on the View next week – he is a donald trump what ever. Interesting timing don’tcha think?

  10. Manymeez says:

    Y-E-S L. Goulet. and the worst is when people don’t know what else to say, or have run out of ways to defend themselves, they always go for the name calling or go for what they presume are your insecurities. Either defend your opinion, or move along, ya know? Thanks for the feedback, I agree with you completely.

    Palestar, I looked at the schedule, I didn’t see Jimmy Kimmel on there. I tried watching the view yesterday, but just found it to be lame. I used to watch it whenever I was home from work, but after having someone like Rosie on there, going back to the old just doesn’t cut it anymore.

  11. Palestar says:

    Yes MM you are right it was boring – J.K. was scheduled. and I watched for the 1st 12 min – just to see what they would say and was not surprised to see EH lie about Rosie – whatever – perhaps Barbara too. Whoopi was not open and friendly – after the 12 minutes – I reprogrammed my Tivo and canceled the season pass for the View. It was not the same so I stopped watching and did not wait to see if JK was indeed on. I simply did not care. Would it not be ironic if the View won an Emmy for the 1st time?

Leave a Reply

