Democratic debate; and the winner is…

Posted: June 3, 2007 in All, Blogroll, politics, Thoughts

Well, I watched the democratic debates in New Hampshire tonight.  It is very interesting to watch, but I feel like it’s really a waste of time.  The candidates spoke a lot without saying much at all.  Their promises and their responses to , “This is what I would do if I were President” were a bunch of lies that even I could see. I want to hear a debate that actually gives me information about the candidates.  I think Edwards and Kucinich came out as the best “performers.”  And I’d like to know, who in the hell is Mike Gravel?  He is the most argumentative man I’ve ever seen.  He didn’t say much of anything about what he’d do as president, but spent most of his time finger pointing and name calling.  He came off as a complete joke, in my opinion.  Clinton came off strong, but mentioned her husband way too much.  I think that is a mistake.  She just needs to be her own woman, and leave him out of it.  I noticed that she said  “we” instead of “I”  way too much when asked about what she’d do if she became president.

If I had to vote tomorrow based on the information I have now, I’d  have to go with Edwards.  I see him as a smarter Jimmy Carter.  But thank goodness, we all still have about 17 or 18 months before the polls open!

Comments
  1. I just wanted to let you know I linked this post to my post on the Debate.

    http://informedvoters.wordpress.com/

  2. sahmadi says:

    I am amazed that you find Edwards credible. He didn’t even read the NIE. Here is a man who voted to give a moron the authority to use force and he did so for political reasons…and yet you think he is a “smarter Jimmy Carter”. That is insulting President Carter.
    John Edwards thinks of only John Edwards. I pray for his wife, but I honestly do not find anything credible about Mr. Edwards.

  3. Manymeez says:

    Thanks Catherine! That’s fine.

    Sahmadi, I didn’t say that I found Edwards credible, I did say that if I had to vote tomorrow, I’d choose him. Honestly, I think that any candidate that gets to this level is not credible at all. And I think the debates are an opportunity for candidates to blow smoke. I don’t buy half of the promises or intentions they make. I don’t have a problem with Edwards decision to continue running despite his wife’s illness, because that is a personal issue between them. Do you find a candidate to be credible? If so, why? Thanks for commenting…I think we need all of the dialog we can get on this subject.

  4. unitedcats says:

    It’s so silly that we having debates nearly two years before the election that I can’t even be bothered to to watch. The world may very well change a lot in the next year, and any of these guys could get hit by a bus in the interim. Personally I think Gore is setting himself up to be “drafted” into running, and he will win hands down. Still, dialogue is a good thing, can’t argue that. 🙂

  5. Manymeez says:

    I agree with you unitedcats. It is just so odd that one election starts as soon as the last one finishes. Who knows what the world will look like in a year. But I do know, that I am so fed up with politicians in general, I’m starting my research early. I hate to say it, but I’m kind of trying to pick the one that’s not the worst. Will there ever be one that’s the best?

  6. […] there ever be the best? Jump to Comments I wrote a response to unitedcats in my post, The Democratic debate, and the winner is… that really got me thinking.  I said that I’m so fed up with all politicians at this […]

  7. ruarris says:

    I think it’s interesting that you find Mike Gravel to be argumentative. He was given very little airtime in the debate (roughly 5 minutes compared to Obama’s 15 minutes), so he kind of had to come out swinging at the other candidates.

  8. adam says:

    Senator Obama was the most impressive of the night, he was able to sway undecised voters towards his favor. he speaks with such poised and polished attitute, even though some argue he is not experienced. Our current president was and is very experienced…and look where he got us. and why does senator clinton who is so called experienced keep changing her position, come on people!

  9. Manymeez says:

    Thanks for the comment Adam. This post was from the debate in New Hampshire. You’re right though, I think Obama did better in South Carolina. He’s definitly developing, and I’m watching him closely. Just still not anywhere close to making up my mind yet.

Leave a Reply

