living in a selfish world

Posted: June 18, 2007 in All, Blogroll, Life, Motivation & Inspiration, philosophy, Thoughts

I’m back from the beach now, and just wanted to share a little bit about what I spent some of my time thinking about.  I didn’t spend as much time as I usually do thinking about the terrible direction this world is heading.  I didn’t spend time thinking about politics, or any of the many important things going on in the world today.  Except for global warming.  I saw evidence that it exist, and felt saddened by what I saw.

What I spent a majority of my free time thinking about was selfishness.  I found myself wondering why it seems that a majority of people ask and expect more from others than they are willing to do themselves.  I found myself wondering why we become lazy in relationships.  After spending many hours sitting on the beach, I found that I’m not only disappointed in others, but I’m disappointed in myself.  I hate that I don’t get upset when I feel neglicated.  I hate that I don’t do enough to make sure others don’t feel neglicated.  I hate that I live in a world full of selfishness, and I feel so unphased by it.

In the United States it is an exception and not a rule that people do for others without expecting anything in return.  It is so rare in fact, I don’t even know if I’d know it if I saw it.  That makes me truly sad.  Why is it that we live life as if we, the individual is the most important and our own personal problems and goals need to come before anyone elses?

This is something I spent a lot of time thinking about, and still  haven’t come up with any answers.  I don’t want to be one of these people…but I just can’t seem to figure out how to not feel resentful when others don’t act the same.  Does anyone else think about this?  What have you come up with?

Comments
  1. Andrés says:

    I also think ’bout it.
    This thought-provoking message is related: Our Own Little World

    We seem to be selfish, is part of the matter of the incentive problem of economics. We seem to be more productive when we act in pursuit of our own (egotist?) interests (sometimes we’re interested in making more money). It’s the way how capitalism works.

    In a warm family home, we act with unity. Selfishness is seen bad (certain independence is necessary, however). In a united family, we are happy, we share. A united society (not a forced, hard-regime egalitarianism, but rather a voluntarily, generous united community) would be a better place to live in.

  2. Manymeez says:

    Thanks Andres! (sorry, don’t know how to get the symbol over the “e”) I agree with you, but how do we get the rest of the world on the same page? People just don’t seem to get it!

  3. Andrés says:

    let’s begin speaking with hard words: example.

  4. D says:

    A group of people that share their possessions around to other members of their group, will always WIN or DO BETTER against a group of people that only follows or relies on one powerful leader. I learnt that through teamwork in sports and can be applied in life/society.

Leave a Reply

