“Diplomacy is for wimps”

Posted: June 27, 2007 in All, Blogroll, Controversy, politics

Maureen Dowd has written a disturbing column, W learns from students: Dowd still sticking it to Cheney.  I am shocked, scared, and in total and complete disbelief about what this country has and is allowing the current administration to get away with.

Apparently on Monday, a group of high school Presidential Scholars were visiting the White house.  [They] “surprised President Bush by slipping him a handwritten letter pleading with him not to let America become known for torture and urging him to stick to the Geneva Conventions with terror detainees.”  It is a rarity that anyone gets in to see the President without being pre-screened, but these “No Child Left Behind” educated students slipped in with its’ own agenda.  Cheney promptly ran “them off the White House lawn, before he shut down the Presidential Scholars program and abolished high schools.”

But that’s not the scary part.  Cheney has given my term, “manymeez” a whole new meaning.  Cheney, the president of the Senate expelled Dick Lugar, the ranking Republican Senator from Indiana on the Foreign Relations Committee,  because of some comments he made now opposing the war. Here is where you can read more.  Cheney promptly “appointed himself the new Senator from Indiana.”  “It was a busy day of Constitutional shape-shifting for the vice president, who had earlier nominated and confirmed himself to the Supreme Court, so that he could roll back judicial decisions tempering his desire for torture galore, and then morphed back into his executive branch role to bar the door to the Oval Office sandbox and prevent Condi and Bob Gates from giving W. the plan he wanted to close down Gitmo.”

My God, this is disturbing stuff.  Why aren’t our newly elected officials doing something?  Nancy, where the hell are ya girl? You are blowing it,… not literally, (I hope).  You must do something before there is not a country left to govern! Nancy, if you can’t handle it, by God please find someone who can!

Comments
  1. JimPanzee says:

    Despite Cheney’s dictatorial maneuvering, Lugar is a highly respected member of Congress and one of the more wise actors of the world stage. The harm has already been done. Although…this is disturbing stuff. I can’t wait until Cheney et al is gone gone gone.

  2. Manymeez says:

    Hey Jim! Thanks for stopping by and the comment. I agree, I can’t wait until Cheney and his puppets are gone…but what will be left of America by then? What kind of legacy are we leaving for our children, while we (Americans) sit idly by doing nothing? Scary stuff indeed!

  3. JimPanzee says:

    Normally I like to approach these things with moderation…or a hope for moderation. I like to think “Well, it’s been bad before; there’s a backlash and recovery.” But you’re right, I don’t think it’s quite been this bad before. I’m not one for jumping onto the pundit bandwagon but I don’t think there’s a reasonable voice left in the world not calling this regime “the most secretive,” “the most authoritarian,” “the greediest,” etc. I’d like to think “It’s just one more year.” But…I shiver to think what those who have nothing to lose can do to us in that year.

  4. Manymeez says:

    Hey Jim. You said that very well! I feel a little more comforted knowing I’m not alone. BTW, what’s the photo next to your name? I can see the white house, but not the people. Seeing the white house next to your name makes you look so official and authoritative.

  5. JimPanzee says:

    It’s Gerald Ford and his dog in front of the white house “porch.” A very subtle allusion to my own little blog project. As soon as I find a fitting chimpanzee avatar I will use it instead.

  6. Ronnie Ann says:

    Nice post. I’m a big Dowd fan. Her satirical look at what a “manymeez” Cheney could do (especially one who is magically not of any one branch but somehow has his hands in all) is hysterical – but too close to the truth for me to laugh out loud. Thanks for sharing this with those of us who missed it.

  7. Manymeez says:

    Okay….this is extremely embarrassing, but here it goes. The current administration is so screwed up, I actually thought Maureen Dowd’s comments were true. Ronnie Ann pointed out to me that it was written in satire. But Cheney is such a dictator, I actually had no logical reason to believe that these statement could not be true. So, I stand corrected. But I’m leaving the post and comments the same, just wanted to make a note that I was wrong, but not by much.

  8. Ronnie Ann says:

    I so understand how you could think they would do something like this. Because they would if they could get away with it. And considering the horrendous stuff they’ve gotten away with so far, this wasn’t a far leap. Love your straight-forward passion and sincerity, Manymeez. You represent everything this administration doesn’t. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

