The Lie…

Posted: September 1, 2007 in All, Blogroll, Controversy, politics, Thoughts

One of the members of a group I’m in posted this essay to the group.  I found it to be very interesting, mainly because this line of thinking had never occured to me.  Of course I don’t claim to be a history major by any stretch of the word, but it sounded resonable and logical to me.   I asked her if I  could post it here, in the hopes of stirring up some conversation about it.  I’d love to hear what anyone has to say about this.

 

temp-1.jpg

The Germans always said they didn’t know

by shyladare 

So many books I have read on Nazi Germany describe its ordinary citizens as having been woebegone at what “they didn’t know”. Their cries of “We didn’t know, we didn’t know” ring throughout time. I always scoffed and dismissed their protests as quick excuses for their total apathy under a tyrannical leader. A wake up call from a brain washed world sent them sputtering and spitting out their defense.

Really, how could they not know?

Weren’t there signs everywhere? The new laws? The SS men? The disappearance of their neighbors and friends, whole communities being obliterated? They never passed a “work camp”? They didn’t hear the cries of the people? The rumors? You didn’t know? You didn’t want to know. It was easier not to know.

If they voiced their dissent, they were instantly deemed unpatriotic-against the Fuhrer, against the good of Germany. If they said anything that was not in line with Hitler’s ideas for a new and “better” Germany, they were first ostracized, then terrorized and eventually silenced.

If you’re not with us, you’re against us-George W. Bush

But where did it start and how could it have gone to such an extreme? Can something like that happen again? Would we let it? Or would we ignore the signs and later cry that we “didn’t know, didn’t know”.

By means of shrewd lies, unremittingly repeated, it is possible to make people believe that heaven is hell — and hell heaven. The greater the lie, the more readily it will be believed–Adolf Hitler, Mein Kampf

I live in Texas and more than half of my friends are blind to the truths of what’s going on in the world and even worse, they don’t care about the truth. Wiretap-so what, I’ve got nothing to hide. Homeland Security-so what, it’s nothing like SS men. Arrested for protesting-so what, I have no plans to protest. Seizure of property and monies-so what, I’m no terrorist. Guantanamo Bay-so what, all they did was make them get naked. Being held with no charge-so what, there’s no suspicion on me. Being held with no charge, for an unlimited amount of time and with no access to tell the public-so what, they only do that to suspected terrorists.

They don’t know because they don’t want to know and they don’t understand that all of those things can affect them at any time, for any reason and just because the government can say they suspect them in terrorist related activity. They don’t even have to prove their suspicions. They think that once the war is over everything will go back to the way it was, which was only marginally shitty. They don’t think about the enactment of these laws passing on to the next administration They don’t realize that removing one pebble from the dam will eventually let loose the flood. By giving the executive branch such absolute power in a “time of war” will only prolong a time of war. War on terror will never be won. There will always be terrorists, so too, shall there always be these laws. If we sit idle in apathy. I won’t say I didn’t know.

When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace-Jimi Hendrix

Comments
  1. lawcrow says:

    I am so glas you posted the MM. It is an extraordinary piece by a very intelligent, cute, and personable young lady!

    I cannot wait for more by her….

    Peace!
    B

  2. Manymeez says:

    you’re right Bobby! This piece left an impression on me…it really made me think, which you know is what I’m trying to do on this blog, get people to think. Hopefully it will do that…

  3. Palestar says:

    We will overcome someday – soon – as we do get it…

  4. shyladare says:

    By the way, I have an error in there-Guantanamo Bay should be replaced with Abu Ghraib. I had just been reading on Gitmo and must have had that in my mind.

  5. neicey says:

    Very Powerful…..it needs to be printed shyladare…may I post in my office?

  6. Manymeez says:

    Yes, it is extrodinarily powerful. I’m really surprised that more people haven’t been interested in discussing this. It’s rather intriguing.

  7. shyladare says:

    Any and all are welcome to post it. There are several things out there that share this field of thought. However, most people consider them conspiracy nuts.

    Americans have long been known for their enormous amount of pride in their country. To suspect their leaders of atrocities is too much too handle and it is unsurprising that these things are being ignored. Ignorance is bliss applies to many people.

    I mean, half the people I know don’t even know about black sites…shit, I didn’t until not too long ago.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_site

Leave a Reply

