religion and peace

Posted: July 11, 2008 in All, Blogroll, Controversy, rants, Religion, Thoughts

Can religion bring about peace or does it discourage it?

I usually do very well at holding my tongue…but sometimes it’s just so damn hard. Today at the grocery store a woman was stalking people trying to save their souls by telling them about Jesus. I tried to avoid her, but…well, she was just unavoidable.

She walked up to me and asked if I have accepted Jesus as my personal savior. Usually I just say –“yes, thank you” and go on my merry way. But today I must have been in the mood for a fight because I said — “I used to, but now I’m not sure. I believe he lived and was a great man. But I just don’t know if he’s responsible for saving my soul.” As soon as those words fell from my lips I knew I was going to regret it. But what was done was done….and it needed to be said damn it!

She had that kid in an amusement park expression all over face. She was excited and was ready to jump all into saving this poor lost soul. –ME. Giving me her version of the facts, she stated why I should believe. This is when she said the thing that sent my head into a spin….the reason why I’m here typing furiously…..She actually said to me– “If everyone in this world believed that Jesus is the savior, we would not have wars, crime, hate, rape….everything in the world would be perfect!”

OMG!!! I can’t believe she just said that. I wish someone had been with me to slap me out of my trance and drag me the hell away from there…but I was left with my own stewing thoughts on the verge of boiling over! I managed a deep breath, while collecting my thoughts to try and defuse the roguish behavior this woman was selling. Instead, I decided to throw her mousetrap right back in her face and said– “If everyone in the world would shatter their own damn glass houses and agree to disagree, the world would be beyond perfect!” Amusing myself as I watched her jaw drop, I left it at this — “It’s people like you that make this world the imperfect place that it is. The whole, no Jesus, no peace….know Jesus, know peace thing is not helping the world be at peace at all. We need a little more– no me, no you…know us, know peace” and walked away with a stride in my step I haven’t felt in awhile.

I don’t know where she went, but when I came out of the store, she was gone.

I know I don’t have the answers to peace, I wish I did….I wish somebody, anybody did. But I do know that this world is crumbling right before our eyes because most people lack any ability or desire to listen to anyone’s point of view without taking it personally. I’m guilty of it too, obviously.

This world will go unchanged….possibly worsen as long as people refuse to spend less time talking and more time listening. Each person has as much right to believe what they believe as I do…I have no more right to tell them they’re wrong than they do to tell me. Once everyone gets that concept, we can move on from there!

Thanks for staying with my rant… PHEW! I feel better now!

Comments
  1. ladylennon says:

    I agree!!!

  2. donna p1914 says:

    You go, girl!!!! Sometimes it is just ‘our turn’ to speak up for good sense. Today was your turn. You did good. Thank you for it.

  3. sparroweye says:

    My Dad never had to argue with them. He just always answered the door, naked as a bluejay, of course also drunk. And then he would say, “I’m a heathen and I still haven’t killed my first Christian.”

  4. steadycat says:

    I used to get so sick of the door knockers and the pamphlets and the comments in church and people acting like I was walking sin that needed to be saved. I even put a sign on my front door that said ‘no religious solicitation’. It didn’t work. One day I was ill and the door knockers wouldn’t stop banging on my door. I got out of the bed prepared to strangle someone. I opened the door and I got the usual spiel about ‘have you accepted Jesus’, etc, My response that morning was ‘I worship the devil!’ It worked. The downside…my next door neighbor stopped speaking to me. Oh, well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

