collision

Posted: July 13, 2008 in All, Blogroll, Controversy, Life, Thoughts, War

Again and again I express my frustration and dismay at the way people act. People fight and bicker because we don’t want to feel weak or vulnerable. Lashing out becomes a sort of defense mechanism. Everywhere I turn, on my street, the television, my friends, my loves, my world… people turn minor disagreements and misinformation into full fledged wars.

Most of us are so insecure we feel the constant need to defend ourselves. If someone says something negative about us, or hurts our feelings, we try desperately to “regain control” by turning our hurt into anger, and lashing out harder and deeper. Remember the Donald Trump and Rosie O’Donnell war? It all started because she said something about his hair.

Anger is easier to digest than hurt. Hurt symbolizes victimization….anger symbolizes strength and control. Hurt and anger are both valid emotions, and we feel both of them for a reason. Having it okay to feel them does not mean it’s okay to do and say anything we wish. When we feel emotions, good or bad, everything attached to those emotions from our past come flooding in. Sometimes that causes us to fall in love when we should just fall in like, or it causes us to fall in war when we should just fall in disappointment. Emotions are tricky, but the words we use to hide them or describe them are lethal.

Yes, we have the right to free speech. But when we choose to say whatever we feel or think, we are also choosing to accept any consequence that comes from that choice. Is it worth it?

Comments
  1. my dad always said, “your rights end where other’s rights begin.” hard to keep in mind with the free speech thing, huh? I’m a knee-jerk reaction kind of person (also known as open mouth insert foot disease). Lately I’ve just been practicing staying still. Seems to be working for me…

  2. Bobby says:

    Many,

    I loved this entire statement!
    You are so wise, and this is why I call you = FRIEND……..

    YELOW, HUGS, xoxoxo
    Bobby

  3. Katherine says:

    Love this entry, gia. So true.

Leave a Reply

