If allowing Jane and Susan to be married is putting your marriage at risk, you and your spouse have bigger problems than who your neighbor is marrying.  What the hell are you all so afraid of?  You’re willing to stomp all over the rights of others because you’re so fearful?  In case you didn’t know, banning gay marriage is unconstitutional.

14th Amendment of the Bill of Rights

Section 1.
All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

A ban on gay marriage is a  good thing to protect marriage?  Protect it from what???????  The only thing that can protect your marriage is you and your spouse!!!!!    Get over your fucking selves and stop treating gays and lesbians the way you used to treat African Americans and women!!!!   “We are all created equal!”  Despite your insecurities and your fears!

KEEP YOUR DAMN OPINIONS OFF OF EVERY AMERICANS CIVIL RIGHTS!!!!!!

And before you decide you want to start throwing bible versus at me, remember that in the United States we have the separation of church and state!

more

Comments
  1. chouchou says:

    You missed the point. My husband and I were discussing last night what will happen to all those couples married between the court ruling and the amendment. Our take on it is, who cares? Let them be married. It doesn’t hurt us or our family. However, now that prop 8 has passed, the gay rights activists can not force homosexuality to be taught in our schools or force our churches to perform gay marriages or force private adoption agencies to allow gay couples to adopt children that would otherwise go to a family with a mom and a dad. It was never about your rights. It was about removing a weapon against our rights.

  2. c james. says:

    Thank you for your brilliant prose. Proposition 8 is proposition late, but one day there will be equality for all. Until then, we must keep up the fight, regardless of our personal orientation.

    Read more on this issue at http://www.raverantrage.blogspot.com

  3. ladylennon says:

    Chouchou

    I WISH Homosexuality was taught in my high school. Then maybe one of my best friends could have gone to prom without fear. We need to teach children how to be accepting not how to fear.

    No one is going to go to your child’s school and say here take this manual on how to become gay. If you think that then you have been seriously misled somewhere.

    As far as gay adoption goes I have experience with foster care and I would much rather see a child go to a loving home, gay or straight, than be lost in the system

    Keep your religion out of my constitution. Seriously.

    I am a straight woman. I believe in a loving God who love all his children REGAURDLESS of sexuality. I believe that this vote is unconstitutional and that it should be repealed. Period.

    Now is the time for acceptance not judgment,

  4. Manymeez says:

    Chochou: Thank you for taking your time to comment and explain your point of view. And thank you for being respectful. These are my responses to your argument. 1. I don’t know about you, but I tend to stay away from places that make me feel like crap. When gays are treated equally under the law, I can assure you that they will not coming banging on the doors of your churches demanding to be accepted for who they are. There is not one single court of law that can demand any church marry anyone, period. 2. The schools are so short of money, they barely teach anything but core subjects. I graduated 20 years ago, but I can tell you….I did not learn about marriage in school, I learned it from my family. If schools require tolerance (I hate that word), that is not a bad thing at all. Schools do not allow any kind of open racism, sexism, or bullying in general…. homosexuals deserve no less. 3. Go back to the frame of mind you were as a kid. Imagine yourself as that child being homeless and without a family. Remember that innocent child you were who only wanted to be loved? Do you honestly think that that child would chose to be in a loveless group home over a home with 2 loving women or men? With complete respect, but…. give me a break!

    Thank you James! I’ll head over to your blog and take look around!

    Amanda! thank you for commenting and helping me to explain where I’m coming from!

  5. liz says:

    amen, gia! amen! so well said.

  6. Bobby says:

    People will always fear what they do not understand, and believe anything that is printed on a piece of paper or spewed out of the mouth of someone considered godly.

    I still do not understand how my being married to someone will personally hurt anyone in society today?

    There is hope though…..
    xo
    B

  7. MamaD says:

    Gia: You are eloquent and beautiful….and you handled Chouchou better than I would have! Prop 8 was NEVER about teaching gay marriage in schools,….we don’t even teach REGULAR marriage in schools! That was just a BS campaign to scare the small minded and it obivously worked. I am so pissed over this! I hope the marchers will turn things around. And I love seeing Mayor Newsom (SF Mayor, who is also an attorney BTW) eloquently finding arguments to ensure the CA Supreme Court will get involved (AGAIN) to let the voters know they CAN”T legislate “morality” for a minority group. WTF. Stay stong and hopeful….I just know we will fix this mess.

    xoxoxxo

Leave a Reply

