Happy New Year

Happy Easter

Happy Hanukkah

Merry Christmas

Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Valentines Day

Are these holidays really happy or merry?  Does adding happy or merry to the holiday make you feel happy or merry?  Or do you just feel happy and merry because you enjoy the significance of the holiday?

I’m thinking of putting this theory to the test.   I’ve been feeling really crappy lately.  So, I’m wondering if I blurt out “HAPPY CRAPPY DAY”  if that will make me feel happy about feeling crappy?  Who knows, maybe I’ll start a National holiday where everyone gets to stay home and feel happy about feeling crappy!  Hell, if I could have a stay home feelin’ crappy day, WITH PAY….That would make me pretty damn happy about feeling crappy!

Bah humbug!  YES, I’m being a scrooge….. but no matter how many times people blurt out MERRY CHRISTMAS or HAPPY HOLIDAYS, it doesn’t make me feel anymore merry or happy! (sorry, but you’d have to know what’s going on or be in the same place in order to understand this sentiment)

On another note, I noticed the Christians are trying to take over the phrase, Happy Holidays.  They’re now saying, “Jesus being born is a happy holiday”.  Give me a freakin’ break.  Let people have their non committal, politically correct phrase that covers everything and makes everyone but a scrooge happy, Damn it!

a holiday everyday

Comments
  1. liz says:

    i think if you say, ‘have a fucking happy crappy day!’, that will be even better! try it! i hope you feel less crappy soon…. xo

  2. ladylennon says:

    Aw Gia, it’ll get better.

    I say go up to the nearest christian and say happy fucking crappy day and it will make you smile lol

  3. jill1119 says:

    i would like to join in on the happy crappy day fun!..

    ((gia))

  4. c james. says:

    I like Christmas, but I think it’s a bit overdone. I throw a Christmas party every few years, there’s always an office holiday party, then I have to drag my butt to other people’s holiday parties…uugh, it can get so exhausting that by Christmas morning, I can’t wait to turn off the Christmas machine, and detox until New Years. But I do enjoy collecting toys for deserving underpriviledged children and giving to various charities.

    Check out how Happy Joel is celebratin’ at: http://raverantrage.blogspot.com/2008/12/christmas-decorations-at-happyjoels.html

  5. Andrea_44 says:

    Gia I totally understand your feelings. I’m not in the mood for a Merry Christmas either, and I refuse to say happy holidays…..that just adds to my grumpiness when I hear it! I would like to just run away for a few weeks till it’s all over…..trouble is I would have to come back sooner or later! 😦

    I hope you’re crappy days will be soon over.

  6. Katherine says:

    Well, the Happy Crappy Day phrase made me laugh! So it might just work! 😉

    I’m not sure just saying, “merry christmas or happy holidays” puts the happy in it. I think the people put the happy in it if they’re saying it with meaning and a smile. And, of course, it always depends on who’s saying it probably! But really, it’s just a phrase in the end…a hope or wish from someone to someone. Nothing much more than that.

    And it’s okay to be scrooge. =) He came around in the end. Maybe you will too!

    Hope the crappy turns into happy!

  7. Bobby says:

    I love you Scroogy!!!!

    As for any group entity trying to take over any holiday, phrase, or thought. They only influence the weak minded who rather dwell in someone else’s beliefs and forgetting the happiness of their own. Choice is a serious thing to give up. Then again, ignorance is bliss.

    I love how you really put your thoughts into word!
    Loving ya !
    B

  8. Jane says:

    It’s hard for me to feel good about any day when all the coffee shops are closed, G. Right now I’m counting down the hours (seven) to a latte. I will probably buy two.

    I’d also like to skip over the New Year and Valentine’s Day, because I’m totally sick of winter.

    My birthday is in March, but I’m not thrilled about my age so unless I can reverse it I’m skipping that as well.

    As a Jew, I don’t really get the Easter thing. Somebody rises from the dead and goes looking for eggs and baskets full of chocolate. Oh well, at least it’s on a Sunday. Still, I think the coffee shops might close.

    That puts us into May, which I think will be about the time I come out of hibernation.

  9. MamaD says:

    I miss you girl! Just signing on to say hi and I am SO with you on the Happy Crappy shit! I haven’t been out of my pjs in like 3 days and it feels good…..xoxoxo

  10. Loony says:

    I have to agree with liz on this one…I like happy fucking crappy day…better ring to it~!
    I might even use that phrase over the course of the coming days~!
    holidays…pains in the ass if you ask me I think I would prefer it all to go down in July myself..in the sunshine and warm air but no one seems to listen to my yearly request around here~!

  11. dul says:

    very good nice

Leave a Reply

